2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee vs 2019 Subaru Outback

2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee vs 2019 Subaru Outback

Although one is a midsize SUV and one is wagon, there’s enough similarities between the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee and the 2019 Subaru Outback to make them worth comparing when shopping around for a new vehicle. Drivers who can’t decide between the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee vs the 2019 Subaru Outback should compare each vehicle in terms of trim level availability, storage space and engine performance.

The 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee is available in seven trim levels (Laredo, Limited, Trailhawk, Overland, Summit, SRT and Trackhawk) while the 2019 Subaru Outback is only offered in six (2.5i, 2.5i Premium, 2.5i Limited, 2.5i Touring, 3.6R Limited and 3.6R Touring). The 2019 Grand Cherokee is more spacious as well, offering a standard cargo capacity of 36.3 cubic feet while the 2019 Outback only offers 35.5 cubic feet of standard cargo space.

2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee


2019 Subaru Outback

7 Trim Levels 6
36.3 cu.ft. Standard Cargo Capacity 35.5 cu.ft.
295 Standard Horsepower 175
260 lb.-ft. Standard Torque 174 lb.-ft.

2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee Performance

In terms of engine performance, the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee outputs 295 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, while the 2019 Subaru Outback’s standard engine only generates 175 horsepower and 174 pound-feet of torque. A 6.4-liter V8 (475 hp, 470 lb.-ft. of torque) and a supercharged 6.2-liter V8 (707 hp, 645 lb.-ft. of torque) are available for the 2019 Grand Cherokee as well.

If you need a vehicle with great off-roading capabilities, the 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee’s Trailhawk trim has you covered. This trim includes four-wheel drive with low-range gearing, an electronic rear differential, a terrain-selectable traction control system and off-roading tires.

Available 2019 Jeep Grand Cherokee safety features include: Rear height-adjustable headrests, passenger airbag occupant sensing deactivation, stability control, rear door child safety locks, turn signal mirrors, an engine immobilizer, daytime running lights, traction control and a blind spot warning accident avoidance system.